Band-aid

brian-patrick-tagalog-Zcl9rMwflmw-unsplash

I was all of five when I first fell,

The skin around my knee had started to bleed and swell.

Only when my mother came did my tears fade,

As she carefully pressed on my knee – a band-aid.

 

Since then I have learned that for cuts small,

A simple band-aid is the remedy for all.

Once put on, everything will be okay,

Because the hurt and pain will soon go away.

 

Once older, I decided to experiment,

Whether for all hurts, would a band-aid be relevant?

It requires minimum effort in healing you,

So simple that a six year old could do it too.

 

But as I grew older, I realized one thing,

That it is not only the physical wounds that sting.

Pain and trauma of the emotional category,

Were the ones which were abundant in all their gory.

 

But to using band-aids I was so attuned,

So I used metaphorical band-aids for metaphorical wounds.

A metaphorical band-aid is acknowledging the emotional trauma,

And then pushing it away and labelling it as melodrama.

 

For a trauma one or two in number,

A metaphorical band-aid might just work wonders.

But to correctly deal with your problems you might just never learn,

Because a metaphorical band-aid might eventually take a bad turn.

 

An emotional wound that has been repressed and pushed away,

Is going to get aggravated and rear its ugly head one day.

For no amount of band-aids will help you,

No half-measures will make the trauma subdue.

 

From five to twenty-five,

I’ve used band-aids to keep me alive.

But now that the band-aids have started peeling,

I’ve realized that there has been no healing.

 

Putting on a band-aid is another attempt to procrastinate,

While it covers the wound, the injury does not abate.

At the end of the day, you will be plastered with band-aids,

At the end of the day, none of your scars will ever fade.

Published by Shira Khiamti

I associate the taste of coffee with the feeling of being productive

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started